2020 Leadership Council

The CPCU Society Leadership Council is comprised of elected officers, elected or appointed council members, and ex-officio members, and has responsibility for defining CPCU Society policies and monitoring administration of the CPCU Society. The Leadership Council meets at least twice a year, at the CPCU Society Leadership Summit and In2Risk.

View the press release announcing our new leaders for 2020.

  • President and Chair
  • Thomas E. Woods, MS, CPCU

    Thomas E. Woods, MS, CPCU, is assistant vice president of underwriting operations for USAA Property and Casualty Company. Woods has previously served as the Pikes Peak CPCU Society Chapter president and on the CPCU Society Board of Governors and Leadership Council, as well as in local chapter positions. He is on the executive committees of the Federal Alliance for Safe Homes (FLASH) and BuildStrong Coalition and serves on the South Carolina Wind and Hail Underwriting Association Board of Directors.

  • President-Elect
  • Sharon A. Koches, CPCU, RPLU, AAI

    Sharon A. Koches, CPCU, RPLU, AAI, AU, ITP is founder and CEO of Managing Performance, LLC, providing P&C consulting and human capital development solutions for insurance companies and their agency distribution networks. Her areas of expertise include independent agency operations, large account alternative market underwriting, insurance association management, and training. Koches holds the CPCU, RPLU, AAI, AU and ITP designations and has taught numerous Institutes and other insurance courses. She is a member of the Eastern North Carolina CPCU Society Chapter, the Professional Liability Underwriting Society, and SITE.

  • Secretary / Treasurer
  • Kellie OConnell, MBA, CPCU

Kellie OConnell, MBA, CPCU is a client director and vice president at Willis Towers Watson, where she works with a variety of large, complex and global organizations. She is also a speaker and published author on various insurance topics. Throughout her career, OConnell has been closely involved in professional insurance organizations at the local, state, and national levels.

  • Immediate Past President and Chair
  • Jill D. McCook, MEd, CPCU, CLU

    Jill D. McCook, M.Ed., CPCU, CLU, leads the business underwriter specialist teams for Southern California at State Farm. She has been active with the local CPCU Society chapters, serving as President of the California Golden Empire Chapter.  She has also served on the Loss Control Interest Group, Nominating Committee and as a Western Regional Governor before joining the CPCU Leadership Council in 2013.  McCook received the Richard A Gerrond award in 2012 and the Rye R Sharpe award in 2017 for her leadership within the CPCU Society and her community.




Leadership Council Members

Rachel S. Bannister, CPCU
  • Assistant Vice President - Marketing
  • Patrons Oxford Insurance
Carla D’Andre, MBA, CPCU, CLU, ARe
  • President
  • D’Andre Insurance Group
Susan Golla, CPCU, ARM
  • Vice President
  • McGriff, Seibels & Williams
  • Claims Project Coordinator
  • Farm Bureau Financial Services
Rita Williams-Bogar, MBA, CPCU, ChFC, AU, AINS, ARM
     Personal Development           Solutions LLC
Anthony E. Fienberg, CPCU, ARe, ARM, RPLU
  • Founder/Managing Partner Prime Insurance
Christopher J. Hampshire, CPCU
  • Vice President - Carrier Practice
  • Gallagher Bassett Services
Donald George, MBA, CPCU, ARM, AU, AAI, AMIM, AIS
     Casualty Underwriting           Manager
     RSA Insurance Agency
William P. Thomas, CPCU, CPM
  • Director State Management
  • United Services Auto Association / USAA
Roy Wright

  • President and CEO
  • Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety